PHC to vote on sorority extension for Zeta Tau Alpha at K-State


Recently, K-State Greek Affairs confirmed plans to bring a new national panhellenic sorority to campus. After final candidate organizations Alpha Phi, Delta Gamma and Zeta Tau Alpha visited campus two weeks ago, K-State panhellenic council members decided ZTA would be the best fit for K-State, said Meghan Butler, PHC president and senior in finance.

According to a resolution drafted by the PHC Extension Committee, ZTA “impressed” the committee with its “commitment and development of local alumni.” Currently, there are at least eight ZTA alumnae members who serve as K-State faculty and staff, and 10 ZTA alumnae in the immediate Manhattan area have agreed to serve a new colonization in advisory capacity.

ZTA also is not a completely new name to the K-State greek community. According to the resolution, it had an active chapter on campus from 1931-1941

However, in order to finalize a new ZTA colonization, Butler said the resolution must pass by a majority vote when it is presented in the PHC meeting tonight. If it passes, Butler said this would mean ZTA will become K-State’s 12th national panhellenic sorority in fall 2010. If it fails, the resolution would go back to the PHC extension committee. However, Butler said she does not anticipate any set backs.

“I believe that the [greek] community will pass the resolution,” she said.

Butler said K-State has not had a sorority extension in 17 years. The most recent sorority to join campus was Sigma Kappa in 1992. Currently, Butler said every sorority – with the exception of one – on campus is at total. This means they are at or over membership capacity.

“That’s kind of a strong indication it is time to bring on a new chapter,” Butler said. “This is a very exciting process especially since it’s been 17 years since we got to do this, so it’s kind of fun to go in there and do it ourselves.”

The meeting tonight is scheduled to take place at 7 in the Alpha Xi Delta house, 601 Fairchild Terrace. Butler said all members of the community are welcome to attend.