Tigers make move to SEC official


After months of speculating, the Missouri Tigers have made it finally official that they have been accepted as the 14th member of the Southeastern Conference. Missouri is joining the Texas A&M Aggies as the two teams that leaving the Big 12 to join the SEC.

Missouri will start participating in the SEC in 2012, as SEC commissioner Mike Slive said in a press release on the SEC website.

“Missouri is an outstanding academic institution with a strong athletic program,” Slive said in the release. “We look forward to having the Tigers compete in our league starting in 2012.”

With the loss of the Tigers and Aggies, the conference will have nine active members next year with TCU joining the conference. It is still unknown whether or not the West Virginia Mountaineers will be allowed to leave the Big East for the 2012 season.