Johnny Manziel wins Heisman Trophy; Klein finishes third


Coming off one of the greatest seasons in school history, senior quarterback Collin Klein went to New York hoping to become K-State’s first ever Heisman trophy winner. 

Unfortunately for Klein, Texas A&M; quarterback Johnny Manziel stole the show.

Manziel finished the race with 2,029 total points and became the first freshman to ever win the Heisman trophy.

Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te’o finished in second place with 1,706 total points, and Klein finished in third with 894 total points.

After the presentation, Klein spoke to reporters, and said that the experience of being a Heisman finalist was more than enough.

“The bottom line, it doesn’t really matter,” Klein said. “I was just honored to be here and represent K-State.”

On the season, Klein finished with 37 total touchdowns, while leading the Wildcats to a conference championship title and a berth in the Fiesta Bowl versus Oregon on January 3, 2013 in Glendale, Ariz.

On Friday night, Klein beat out several senior candidates to win the Unitas Award in Baltimore, Md. The Unitas award is given to the top upperclassmen quarterback in the country.