Campus clips



Law enforcement continues search for missing physics department employee
Law enforcement officials continue to search for a missing 56-year-old woman in Tuttle Creek State Park, said Mat Droge, public information officer at the Riley County Police Department, on Tuesday.
Jane Peterson, St. George resident, was originally reported missing on Sunday. Her abandoned 1999 Toyota Tacoma was found in Tuttle Cove at the state park at approximately 2 p.m. on Monday.
Peterson is a senior administrative assistant for the department of physics at K-State.
Peterson is 5 feet 6 inches tall, weighs 140 pounds and has red hair.
Law enforcement (including K-9 units), Riley County Police Department, Kansas Highway Patrol, Fort Riley officials, and helicopters are being utilized in the search. Peterson is not a threat to the public, Droge said.
Follow the RCPD at @RileyCountyPD on Twitter for more updates.

Lou Douglas Lecture Series speaker selected
John Hofmeister, founder and CEO of Citizens for Affordable Energy and former president of Shell Oil Co., was selected as the speaker for the 2014 Lou Douglas Lecture series on Feb. 11.
Hofmeister graduated from Kansas State University with a bachelor’s and master’s degree in political science. He spoke at the Landon Lecture in 2006.
Hofmeister now serves as a member of the U.S. Energy Security Council, chairman of the National Urban League and member the Department of Energy’s Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory, among other roles.

American Red Cross to hold blood drive in Manhattan on Thursday
The American Red Cross will hold a community-wide blood drive on Thursday, Jan. 23 at Pottorf Hall, located in CiCo Park. The drive will be open from 12-6 p.m.
The American Red Cross recommends staying hydrated and wearing comfortable clothing, and also recommends bringing a list of any medication being regularly used as well as an ID card when donating blood.

International Study Abroad booth in K-State Student Union

Representatives from International Study Abroad will be at the K-State Student Union concourse Wednesday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. to help educate students about the variety of international experiences available.
Information on the variety of programs to global countries will be available, along with English and foreign language courses, and scholarship information.
The Study Abroad Fair will be Wednesday, Feb. 5 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Union Courtyard. The study abroad office is located in 304 Fairchild Hall.

Amazon Student in K-State Student Union today
Representatives from Amazon Student will be on the concourse at the Union between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. They will be giving away back to school essentials and other prizes.

Students will have the opportunity to talk with the Amazon Student team and register for the Amazon Student program which grants users free two-day shipping on a variety of items from, and special offers and promotions.
“Amazon Student is a program designed especially for college students,” said Ripley MacDonald, director of student programs.

For more information about Amazon Student, visit

Awards and recognitions

American College of Veterinary Microbiologists names microbiologist of the year
M.M. Chengappa, university distinguished professor and head of the diagnostic medicine and pathobiology department in the College of Veterinary Medicine was named the 2013 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist of the Year by the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists.

Chengappa’s primary research interests are studying the pathogenesis of infectious animal diseases and developing strategies to protect animals from the diseases. He has authored or co-authored over 126 refereed publications and 130 abstract presentations.

The award was presented on Dec. 8, 2013 at the organization’s annual conference.

Interior architecture and product design students accepted to national conference
Seventeen students from the interior architecture and product design department of the College of Architecture, Planning & Design have qualified for the 2014 Environmental Design Research Association Conference.

They will enter posters and papers, selected for the conference through a double-blind review process. The projects will be presented at the conference, and the papers will be published in the conference proceedings.

The following students were selected: Teresa Siegele, James Dylan Howe, Anthony Ngo, Jay Marcus, Rutvik Date, Sarah Swaim, Melissa Still, Xavier Gavin, Anthony Dorrel, Michael Murphy, Nichole Finke, Abby Buchmann, Katherine Pruser, Abigail Zohner, Kurt Andre, Brian Davis and Kunyan Wei.