Senators learn about campus and legislation updates


Kansas State University student senators met Oct. 9 to hand out kudos and hear updates around campus. The Student Governing Association saw several statute changes up for a first look, but small amounts of legislature in the voting stage.

Drew Unruh, sophomore in open option and chairman of the privilege fee committee, presented changes to the Fine Arts Privilege Fee Agreement. Funding for Fine Arts, such as McCain Auditorium, music and English departments and theater and dance, remained consistent at $322,700 for the next year. The committee chose to make a change to the Fine Arts Funding Regulations to ensure that the committee will consulted when more than $1,000 is spent in the form of payroll.

“We were running into a couple issues with the fine arts department using their funds as ad pays which wasn’t clearly defined,” Unruh said.

Both bills were sent back to committee and will be in final action and voted on during the Oct. 16 SGA meeting.

The executive committee brought forth a change to statutes to include OrgSync in form requests. There was also a change to the same section to change funding for student trips to include registration fees, but no longer include food. This bill was also sent back to committee.

Commendations were awarded to Joann Kouba, David Grieger, John Unruh; professors in the department of animal sciences and industry and Nathan Nelson, professor in the department of agronomy, for receiving North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Teaching Fellow awards. K-State now has a total of 32 recipients of NACTA fellow award.

Commendations were also awarded to Cathie Lavis, associate professor and extension specialist of landscape management in the department of horticulture, for receiving the Alex L. Shigo Award for Excellence in Arboricultural Education at the 90th International Society of Arboriculture International Conference and Trade Show.

Ben Hopper was also commended for his 10 years of service as Union Program Council assistant program adviser, prior to moving to his current job as director of Greek Affairs. Commendations were given to the K-State Crops Judging Team for receiving first place at the Australian Universities Crops Competition.

Commendations were also given to Ray Buyle, assistant professor in architectural engineering and construction science, for his work as K-State Habitat for Humanity student chapter adviser. Buyle received a Significant Service Award from the Manhattan area Habitat for Humanity.

Funds were given to the Agricultural Education club to fund eight club members traveling to the National FFA Organization convention. The Architectural Engineering Institute will send 12 members to the Green Build International Conference and Expo in New Orleans, Louisiana, Oct. 21-24.

Ryan Swanson, associate vice president for campus planning and facility management, presented to senators about the projects and developments taking place throughout campus, including the new business administration building, engineering development, Seaton Hall, the Purple Masque Theatre and Wefald Hall.

“The areas that we’re choosing to focus on are the areas students have chosen to focus on for buildings so we’re being responsive there,” Swanson said.

Swanson said Wefald Hall will add approximately 540 beds. The addition will allow Housing and Dining Services to house over 4,200 students total.

The Student Affairs Committee announced that it would be hosting “SGA Hears You Week” some time next semester to help engage the student body with its leaders. The week will also serve as a way to help educate students about the opportunities SGA offers and the work it does.

Applications are being accepted for elections commissioner until Friday on OrgSync. Speaker Abby Works, senior in chemistry, reminded the senate that seniors who are set to graduate in May are still eligible to apply.