The Kansas Concealed Carry Licensing Unit received 5,119 new applications for concealed carry licenses and more than 21,000 applications for license renewal in fiscal year 2017, according to a July 11 press release from the Kansas Attorney General’s office.
The number of new applicants at its lowest since the program started in 2006. The drop in application numbers likely stems from the passing of the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act in 2015.
Signed into law by Gov. Sam Brownback and enacted in July 2015, the act states any individual more than 21 years old can carry a concealed handgun without a permit. The law also recognizes individuals from other states who are under 21 and have a valid license issued by their home state.
Despite the record low of new applications, more than 21,000 Kansans renewed their concealed carry license. According to the July 11 press release, “licenses are still required in most states, and Kansas licenses are currently recognized in 38 states.”
According to the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act, concealed carry licenses are “valid throughout the state for a period of four years from the date of issuance.”
There are more than 83,000 active concealed carry license holders in the state. With the reported number of renewal requests in the past fiscal year, 25.3 percent of active license holders had their concealed carry license renewed.
In the July 11 press release, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt said citizens who carry firearms should “pursue training opportunities” and “comply with properly posted signage.”