Track and field earns several event wins, personal records in Steve Miller Open

Sophmore Tejaswin Shankar clears the bar in the men's high jump. The 2019 Steve Miller Open was held Saturday inside Ahearn Field House on the Wyatt Haylett Indoor Track. (Rowan Jones | Collegian Media Group)

Both the Kansas State women’s and men’s track teams ended their regular indoor seasons in the Steve Miller Open at Ahearn Field House on Saturday.

The athletes had 17 personal bests in the meet, their last before the Big 12 Championship.

“I think for the most part we’re in pretty good shape, health wise,” track and field coach Cliff Rovelto said to K-State Sports. “We obviously didn’t run a lot of our team that will run at the [Big 12 Championship] meet, but we had a few that we felt like needed a tune-up.”

Sophomore Hannah Buller won the women’s pole vault by vaulting 3.65 meters, which placed her in the top 10 in program history.

Freshman Victoria Alves won the 60 meter hurdles running 8.52 seconds, which is a personal best for her.

It was a busy day for senior Nick Albus: He ran in the 60 meter hurdles, placing first. Then, he won the 200 meter at 22.02 for his final race at Ahearn Field House.

“I think the goal for everyone is to just compete as hard as we can,” Albus said to K-State Sports. “The next couple of weeks, the people that are going to nationals are going to train hard and everyone else is just going to train their tails off [for outdoor season].”

The Wildcats took home several more first-place medals: Senior Sam Dreiling won the men’s pole vault with a 4.90 meter jump, and junior Jullane Walker took the top spot in the men’s long jump with a jump of 7.02 meters. In men’s high jump, sophomore Tejaswin Shankar placed first at 2.20 meters. Freshman Clare Fallon won the women’s triple jump at 10.70 meters.

To round out the day, sophomore Cayli Hume placed first in the women’s 800 meter run with a time of 2:12.23, a personal best.

K-State will be back in action Feb. 22 and 23 when the teams participate in the Big 12 Championship in Lubbock, Texas.