Track and Field finishes in eighth at Big 12 meet

Tejaswin Shankar celebrates clearing the winning height during the second day of the Big 12 Track and Field Championships at R.V Christian Track on May 15, 2021. (Archive photo by Sophie Osborn | Collegian Media Group)

The Big 12 Track and Field Tournament ended on Sunday, May 15, concluding a three-day event. Both the men’s and women’s teams placed eighth — the men’s finishing with 56 points, while the women scored 41 points.

Freshman Emil Uhlin’s performance in the men’s decathlon javelin throw was tied for the highest performance for the Wildcats, finishing in first place. Uhlin took the early lead but was passed by Kansas Jayhawk Alexander Jung, only to be defeated by Uhlin on the final throw.

Super-senior Tejaswin Shankar finished first in a decathlon event as well, winning the high jump with a 2.17-meter jump — winning by one-tenth of a meter. Uhlin managed to place third with a jump of 2.02-meters to accompany Shankar’s medal.

Finishing the decathlon, Shankar took a third-place finish while Uhlin finished just behind him in fourth place. Shankar finished with 7,592 points and Uhlin finished with 7,587 points.

The men’s team’s finish was greatly helped by the decathlon athletes as well as the 4×400 team’s performance. The relay team was composed of freshman Antonio Hanson, sophomore Kyle Gale, and juniors Sean Wilson and Tim Lambert Jr.

The four runners medaled in second place behind the Baylor Bears. Running a time of 3:04.27, the Wildcats barely edged the third-place TCU Horned Frogs by less than a second.

For the women’s team, the weekend was highlighted by two third-place finishes. Starting in the 4×400 race, super-senior Wurrie Njadoe, senior Alex Ferguson, and juniors Shalysa Wray and O’Shalia Johnson ran a 3:35.08.

The Wildcats’ second third-place was junior Kassidy Johnson in the 1,500-meter race. She clocked a time of 4:23.79 time, which was good for less than a second behind West Virginia runner Hayley Jackson.

K-State track and field will compete in Fayetteville, Arkansas, in the NCAA West Preliminary from May 25-28. The top 48 runners between the East and West are rewarded by going to Bloomington, Indiana.