Big 12 names Tang Big 12 Coach of the Year; Nowell and Johnson first-team

K-State Men's Basketball Head Coach Jerome Tang celebrates the victory over the Oklahoma Sooners. The Wildcats beat the Sooners 85-69 in Bramlage Coliseum. (Avery Johnson | Collegian Media Group)

Kansas State men’s basketball received multiple honors from the Big 12. First-year head coach Jerome Tang was named Big 12 Coach of the Year. Seniors Markquis Nowell and Keyontae Johnson were recognized on the conference first team. 

Tang becomes the seventh head coach in school history to be named Big 12 Coach of the Year — third in the Big 12 era. He joins Bruce Weber as the only two coaches chosen for the award in their first season with their program. 

Nowell and Johnson are the 14th duo in school history to be selected together on first team All-Big 12. They are just the second duo in the Big 12 era, however, joining Barry Brown Jr. and Dean Wade in 2018-19.

Additionally, Johnson was named conference Newcomer of the Year following his medical absence from the sport and transfer into Manhattan.