Four Wildcats named to Preseason All-Big 12 team

Offensive lineman Cooper Beebe waits for the snap against TCU. K-State beat the Horned Frogs 31-28 in overtime to win the Big 12 Championship at AT&T Stadium on December 3, 2022. (Archive photo by Macey Franko | Collegian Media Group)

The Big 12 announced the media-voted All-Big 12 team on Wednesday. Four Kansas State players landed on the team, highlighted by offensive lineman Cooper Beebe. 

Beebe was voted to the team after making the 2021 and 2022 All-Big 12 team, adding to his 2022 Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year title and All-American votes in 2022. However, Beebe was not voted unanimously to the team — Texas wide receiver Xavier Worthy was the only unanimously-voted player.

Outside of Beebe, tight end Ben Sinnott was also voted to the team; however, Sinnott was placed as a fullback as Texas tight end Ja’Tavion Sanders was named the team’s tight end. Sinnott recorded 447 receiving yards with four touchdowns with three game’s featuring at least 80 receiving yards in 2022.

Receiving the ball and heading to the end zone, tight end Ben Sinnott scores a touch down. K-State beat TCU 31-28 in overtime to win the Big 12 Championship at AT&T Stadium on Dec. 3, 2022.
(Archive photo by Macey Franko | Collegian Media Group)

Wide receiver Phillip Brooks took the final position of the designated offensive side of the ball as a kick returner/punt returner. Brooks returned one punt return for a touchdown in 2022, averaging 12 yards per punt return and 18.2 yards for kick return.

Phillip Brooks breaks free and runs for a large gain. The Wildcats lost 31-12 against Baylor on Oct 5, 2019. (Archive photo by Dylan Connell | Collegian Media Group)

Safety Kobe Savage was the sole K-State player representing the defensive side of the ball. Savage recorded 45 total tackles and three interceptions in 2022 before suffering a season-ending injury late into the year.

Kobe Savage celebrates a tackle with Joshua Hayes against Texas Tech University on Oct. 1. K-State beat the Red Raiders 37-28. (Archive photo by Julia Smith | Collegian Media Group)

Outside of the Preseason All-Big 12 team, running back Treshaun Ward was named Big 12 Preseason Newcomer of the Year. Ward transferred to K-State after four seasons at Florida State, including running for over 1,000 yards combined in 2021 and 2022.

K-State tied for the second-most players named to the team with Kansas and TCU as Texas led with five players selected. Kansas quarterback Jalon Daniels was named Preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year as Texas linebacker Jaylan Ford was named Preseason Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.