BREAKING: Arizona, Arizona State and Utah welcomed to the Big 12

The Big 12 Championship sits on the stage waiting for its new owners. K-State beat TCU 31-28 in overtime to win the Big 12 Championship at AT&T Stadium on Dec. 3, 2022. (Archive photo by Macey Franko | Collegian Media Group)

The Big 12 has added three more Pacific-12 teams outside of Colorado. Friday night, the Big 12 officially welcomed Arizona, Arizona State and Utah to the Big 12.

The announcement comes after Colorado started the exodus of schools from the Pac-12 in late July. Oregon and Washington also left, moving to the Big Ten. All six teams will move to the respective conferences in 2024.

The Big 12 will have 16 schools in 2024. The 2023 additions of Cincinnati, BYU, UCF and Houston along with the departures of Texas and Oklahoma will bring the number to 16. As the Big 12 grows in number, the Pac-12 will have only four schools in 2024 unless more movement occurs.